Photography Decisions for Vacation

 

Yesterday, I packed up the rest of the choices I’d made for the photographic gear I want to take on our trip.  It was a really hard, but choices had to be made.

My first decision was the bag size.  I have back packs and over-the-shoulder bags of varying sizes, along with a sling bag.  I decided on an over-the-shoulder bag, which is roomy, but not large, and is now carrying the following:

  • Nikon V3
  • 1 Nikon 70-300mm
  • 1 Nikon 10-110mm
  • 1 Nikon 6.7-13mm
  • 1 Nikon 10mm
  • 1 Nikon 18.5mm
  • 1 Nikon 32mm
  • Olympus OM-1n
  • Olympus Zuiko 50mm
  • Olympus Zuiko 35-70mm Close Focus
  • 49mm yellow, orange, and UV filters
  • 55mm ND filters

The OM system and the Nikon 1 system were chosen because they are small and lightweight, but deliver good quality.

I am also bringing 12 rolls of 35mm film, in black and white, and in color, ranging in speed.  It’s still a toss-up between the XA4 and the Trip 35, but I am inclined to take the XA4 as it is more diverse, smaller, and has a covered lens.  No medium format camera made it to the final mix.  I may bring a tripod.   I am also packing some art supplies and my Kindle.  Some knitting, too.  Headphones.  Chrome Book.  Plugs and cords and a power strip.  Yeah, stuff.  Clothes, shoes, and a toothbrush!

5 thoughts on “Photography Decisions for Vacation

  1. fragglerocking July 26, 2017 / 7:59 am

    You’re going away for a few months?

  2. Doug July 26, 2017 / 9:08 am

    Let”s get together after your trip. I’d love to see the photos.

  3. -N- July 26, 2017 / 6:30 pm

    That would be great! Stay tuned, as I will be posting!

  4. -N- July 26, 2017 / 6:31 pm

    No, just a few weeks, but I want to really work on analog photography, so better more film than too little!

  5. Anne Sandler August 9, 2017 / 8:11 pm

    Hi -N- Thanks for following my blog. I look forward to enjoying more of yours.

Leave a Reply

