New Year, New Focus

paint-boxes-1189945_1280

I’ve done watercolor off and on since I was a teenager, back before the dinosaurs disappeared, but I have never made it a resolution to spend time – a lot of time – mastering it.  Rather, the approach I have had has been sporadic and amateurish.  Now, I want to be the “serious student” I never was . . . and while I think I am off to a good start, the real question which lies ahead is how well will I integrate painting into my work life?  I’ve managed to integrate both sumi-e and photography into my life, but I began both of those long before I ended up working 10-hour days.

There are a lot of good books about “how to” watercolor, and I have looked through and purchased a number of them.  As well, there are a number of good YouTube channels with talented artists, with whom you get to cruise along with as they produce a painting.  For me, this visual is what gets me all the time.  While books show you step-by-step photos, some in color, some in black and white, there is absolutely nothing like the video of beginning-to-end, with commentary as the painting develops.

I still plan on pursuing photography – in fact, I have a 365 project planned, with different subjects on a monthly basis.  While I am shifting my focus away from photography as my primary creative outlet, I really want to master watercolor and drawing, and to do so, I need to spend more time doing it rather than thinking about doing it.

So, Happy New Year to everyone!  I hope you have new intentions to keep you happy and creative in your life!

4 thoughts on “New Year, New Focus”

Leave a Reply

