Spring Break: Day 4

This is being written after the fact.  The fact is I spent most of yesterday lounging around, and taking naps.  Morning nap in the sun.  Late morning nap in the sun.  Afternoon nap on the couch.  And to bed at 8 p.m.  Anytime I have vacation, I usually do this sometime during the break, and yesterday was the day!  I think it’s just something I need to do.

That said, I’ve reconsidered some of my list.  In the knitting arena, I don’t feel especially like being challenged, so I pulled out a shawl in the Old Shale – a traditional Shetland lace pattern – I’ve been knitting off and on.  The pattern is easy to remember, knits up comfortably, and can be done in front of the TV or outdoors while listening to an audiobook.  I’m using 10 skeins of Noro in a worsted weight.

The pattern stitch is done in multiples of 18; the shawl has a 3-stitch garter edge either side, and is being knit lengthwise.  So, if you want to do something like it, here it is in a nutshell:

  • cast on 78 stitches
  • Knit 3 ridges garter stitch to show on right side of work, ending ready to begin pattern.
  • Row 1:  K3, place marker, knit until 3 stitches remain on right needle, place marker, K3
  • Row 2:  K3, purl to marker, K3
  • Row 3:  K3, *k2tog 3x, yo k1 6 x, k2tog 3x* – repeat pattern between * * to marker, K3
  • Row 4:  Knit entire row
I’ve decided that I am not too crazy about clothing knit up in Noro stripes – especially sweaters unless they are knit totally in the round.  The colors are beautiful, but the structure of a garment is lost.  As a result, the garment must be structured to work with the yarn.  This pattern actually is a good one for Noro because the broad stripes of color can be appreciated, and the ripple effect of the stitch pattern creates a colorful wave.  I hope I can finish it before I go back to work – 6 skeins left!
Leave a Reply

