Another Pair of Socks

I made these socks ages ago, using Noro Kureyon sock yarn.  I, like many knitters, did not enjoy the knitting experience, but like the final product.  These are warm and toasty and very comfortable to wear, far more so than the yarn implies while knitting.

The tops of the socks are easily reproduced, if you are interested.  What I did was c/o 55 sts.  Pattern for cuff are the following two rows:  1)  k2, p 3 to end.  2) k all stitches.  Continue until 4″ or desired length reached.  Garter stitch 3 ridges (p 1 rnd, k 1 rnd, p 1 rnd, k1 rnd, p 1 rnd) and then continue until you are ready to begin heel.  Make the rest of the sock as you so wish.  My gauge was 6 sts / inch.  Note:  Do not expect a stretchy rib that will hug your ankle; I measured my ankle to give some room, but not much.

 

2 thoughts on “Another Pair of Socks

  1. i used noro in a scarf and was shocked by the transformation after i soaked and blocked it; still, i’ve never made socks because i can’t get rid of the scratchy memory of knitting with it. but your socks look so cozy….maybe i’ll give it a whirl after all.

  2. I think the fact that it is the Kureyon yarn, with the silk, which may be the best. I have a couple of other skeins of their regular sock yarn that I have yet to knit up. Let me know!

Leave a Reply

