Out Looking Around

Being in vacation mode means – being in vacation mode!  But as my last week begins, the organizational part of me returns.  This means a return to patterns of daily living, such as coffee set up the night before, getting up at 5:30-6:00, and following the morning routines of reading the news, blogs I enjoy, and perusing the patterns on Ravelry, and what everyone is knitting.  And this brought me to the current issue of Twist Collective, for which I had considered sending in a pattern or two.  Well, I never got around to that!  However, this morning I sat down and went through the current edition, and was really impressed by a lot of what was on it.

Latvian cast-on?  That possibility caught my eye on this hat with knit-purl-cable patterns that are very pretty in all their combinations.  This is the Crown of Leaves hat by Faina Goberstein.

Crown of Leaves Hat

A lot of sweaters caught my eye, too.  Mostly they are traditional patterns – I don’t do innovative well – that are on the tailored side.  Wellfleet by Cecily Glowik MacDonald presents with a tidy appearance in a very unconservative and cheery color.

Wellfleet

Continuing on a traditional note with innovative design is Hallett’s Ledge by Elinor Brown.  It is easy to see why this is a popular sweater on Ravelry – design and construction!  And the name – where did that come from?

Hallett's Ledge

Finally, there is Acorns by Carol Sunday.  The entire design of the sweater is very attractive.  It is knit from the top down, in one piece.  The name of the sweater got my initial attention – I really love oak trees – but then the sweater itself showed its appeal.

Acorns

A part of me wants to order these patterns and get to work!  Self-control must step in, but this post certainly will remind me what got my eye!  (I still have other projects to work on . . . )  And this is not to say there are not a lot of other wonderful patterns on Twist Collective – there are far too many.  This season’s issue is, in my opinion, one of the best.  But then, I say that about most of their issues.

Leave a Reply

