Iris, iii

I keep thinking about my cochineal dyeing – I still need to write up the rest of it, and post some pictures. Maybe tomorrow when I have more time.

Tonight, though, is painting night. Not a lot of time for it, but in the little time I had, I did some outline drawings of irises. The idea is to get a sense of shape. I drew from some of the photos, and copied some from the Mustard Seed Garden; in fact, I think the best ones were those as the contrast created by the lines was very nice.  My own drawings are quite lacking.  I am so out of practice!

This painting was the first, done early this morning on the same very absorbent paper I used for last night’s wash paintings. You can see just how it sucks up the ink – whoosh! The rest of these are done on tissue thin sulfite paper from Japan, which is much better for line drawings as it is not as quick to wick the ink out of the brush.

All of the above were done from photos. The bottom one was copied from the Mustard Seed Garden – and you can see the refinement compared to my own awkward drawings. Hopefully I’ll get better . . .

2 thoughts on “Iris, iii”

  1. Your drawings are really great. I know you may not be happy with the technical aspects but to a novice or someone who does know anything about the technical parts, your own drawings have movement, great form and are lovely. I just bought two of the books you recommended from Amazon and can’t wait to get started. I did not get the Mustard Seed Garden yet so I will be interested to watch your blog for more from that book!

  2. Thanks for the nice words, Linda. I’ll admit, after I put them up online, and looked at them a day or two later, they were not quite so hideous as I’d thought! But, I can say that I think that the ones from the Mustard Seed Garden really do have the best use of line. That is something to strive for. And – do get the Mustard Seed Garden book, as it is filled with examples. It doesn’t say “smush here” but gives you a sense of the historical compositional elements that make up much of the Asian painting (Japanese, Chinese, Korean). Worth it!

Leave a Reply

