Let Me Sing the New Year Blues

The new year is always a turning point of some kind for me.  Usually I greet it with excitement and enthusiasm, but for this year that seems to have waned.  I’m not quite sure why.  I’ve had the usual stressors that everyone has had in this economy – worries about my job, about money, about a lot of things.  The thing is, these are now part of the daily furniture of life, and after awhile, quite tedious.  So are the usual new year resolutions.

In other words, I’ve become quite bored with myself and my life.  I have been focusing on that and feeling sorry for myself, and totally self-absorbed with it all.  Quite the pity party!

Yesterday Josh and I took a brief walk through an oak woodland nearby.  I love oak trees.  When I was a kid in Illinois, we had a wood lot filled with them and other trees – maple, willow, walnut, crab apple, choke cherry.  The oaks, though, were my favorites.   Here in California, they are too.  They are grand, magnificent, twisty, turny, gnarly, rough, strange, mysterious.

Being outdoors gets me out of myself.  The world is renewed, and so am I.

I think that will be my focus of this next year – to enjoy the world beyond the borders of my norm.

Leave a Reply

