A Foray into Toe-Up Socks, iv

I’ve finished the first sock of this pair, and I can only say I am not too fond of it, as far as doing it, and as far its design.  This being the first sock, and fraught with a high learning curve, it is understandable.

After turning the heel, I continued on with lace rib stitch for 6 inches, and then began the top pattern, which is a repeat of 7 stitches.  To recap, the sock is a 6-stitch repeat, done on 60 stitches.  I decided to increase 3 stitches, every 20th round.  Then I began the pattern, which I will modify, and attach to posts about the second sock, which 1) should be nicer looking, and 2) have a gusset rather than short row heel, and 3) have a decrease of stitches (maybe) for the top border.  Just so you know, the bind off is stretchy, done as k2, slip 2 stitches back to left needle, k2tog, k1, slip 2 stitches back to left needle, and continue until done.  It was a nuisance to do, but the edge worked out rather nicely.

The top of the sock, as you can see, flairs out a bit. As this was the calf area, I figured it would be better to make it the 3 stitches bigger rather than 4 stitches smaller. Maybe I’ll change my mind on that, seeing how it doesn’t have any ribbing on the top. On my leg it looks like it will slide down toward my ankle, which is fine if I want a baggy sock around my ankle, but with this design, I don’t think so.

As far as the overall design of the sock, I’m not displeased, but not happy either. The vertical lines of the ankle and foot are in a nice contrast to the horizontal quality at the top.

At this point, I admit that I am still not sold on toe-up socks. This being my first one, I know I am far from any point of making a definitive statement. There is a lot more still to learn, and certainly I am doing that! And, that was the goal in the first place.

A Request

If you have any sock patterns that you think are just the BEST toe-up sock pattern, leave me a note and a link if there is one.  Or email on Ravelry. I’d love to see other socks, and though I do have books on the subjects, the subject is far more vast than I first realized.

One thought on “A Foray into Toe-Up Socks, iv

Leave a Reply

