A Foray into Toe-Up Socks, iii

Moving along here.  I’m not so sure about this sock, but I shall persevere.  Ever onward!  After all, this is Toe-Up Sock #1.  Let us honor it, rather than destroy it.  I shall plod to the end of my perceived design, but rather than bind off permanently, allow myself the option of ripping – after the mate is begun.  Here is evidence of my hard work, done while watching Season 1, Discs 8 and 9, of The Man from U.N.C.L.E.

The toe fits rather nicely. You can see how the poor yarn has been thrashed by being ripped out and knitted up about five times. It fits comfortably. The lace pattern is a stretchy lace rib, which I figure should give some shape to the sock if I don’t like the heel – and some give it is tight. I have a very high arch, so went this route deliberately. Some texts and websites state that the short-row heel may not be the best for my kind of foot. Looking at the sock in profile, I rather agree. Still, it is comfortable on the foot, but perhaps the real test will be if I wear it with shoes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is the sock, sans foot.  The heel is very pointy!  You can see it in the shadow of the picture above, and in the one below.

I turned the heel, using a short-row technique, no gussets, and with help from the following video, which was extraordinarily clear:

Leave me a comment and let me know what you think!  I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

